I’m Too Easy of An Interviewer

Senior Brogrammer
3 min readFeb 8, 2023

Maybe I’ll interview you next

Never have I been able to make sense of the interview process. I know I’m not alone thinking this way because it’s a very prominent problem. However, people think about it in the absolute worst way. Many people want the “best of the best” to be hired through the interview process.

How do we accomplish this? We add little games or extra criteria to distinguish someone who interviewed well versus excellent. Like what happened to looking at a job description and matching a candidates skills to it. Why does someone have to be excellent and over the top?

Entry level role? You damn well better have internship experience or graduate from Yale.

My next question, what happens when you found the one candidate that jumped through all the hoops? Or worse, somehow perfect for the role. How long will they be around? Will they get bored?

Is there a difference between being motivated for a 4–6 hour (in total) interview process versus 1 year of work down the line? Anyone can be motivated for a couple weeks interviewing around before not giving a shit.

Back to my interviewer expertise. When I interview, I make it out to be conversational as much as possible and perform do a back and forth with the candidate. However, I am pretty easy…

--

--